Kick start your journey to the fab fit you.

MOTIVATION + COMMITMENT

Its starts with a reason why. You may have re-started countless times; every Sunday night telling yourself “I will start tomorrow”, trust me we have all been there. It isn’t that you aren’t trying, its that you don’t have the right motivation to do it. You NEED a strong motivation to lose the weight or else the vicious cycle of yo-yo dieting will commence. The motivation can be anything. I want to fit into my old prom dress, look good for my vacation, show my ex what he (or she) is missing. For me, I have always struggled with my weight, reaching 160 lbs in the ninth grade. I would cry when I stepped on the scale and although I would try diets and eating healthily it still was not working for me. Although I wanted to lose the weight, I was not fully committed because I did not have a driving motivation to stop me from spiraling back to old habits. So much had changed in my life over the next year due to my families move from England to Massachusetts but what hadn’t changed was my weight and unhealthy relationship with food. I had joined a gym, tried the 21 day fix diet, ate a salad for my snack after school everyday, but nope the weight was still packed on. As the school year came to an end I found the motivation I needed. The previous summer I had tried out for the school soccer team and did not make it, I was determined to try out again at the end of the summer and this time hopefully make it. I wanted to prove that I could do it. Thats when it started. I began working out on a regular basis, eating healthily and calorie counting (I struggled with portion control). By the end of the summer I had lost  15lbs, fit into my goal jeans, ran two 5ks and had made the soccer team! I did it but I didn’t want to stop because I loved the way I felt. I fell in love with nutrition and fitness. My goal weight went from 145lbs and when I surpassed that 135 lbs eventually becoming 125-130lbs. Because I had a strong motivation, I was able to become fully committed to the journey and lose those stubborn pounds! If I can do it so can you. Find a reason why and dive head first.

COMMON MISCONCEPTIONS

Fat is bad. Don’t eat a lot. Working out is so important. Eat low calorie foods. Whole wheat bread is good for you. WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. 80% of losing weight is what you eat, 20% is working out. Working out is important in helping you live and healthy life and keeping you sane, but whether you workout 3 times a week or 6, its what you eat thats most important. Every meal you should be eating protein, carbohydrates and fat. I am not talking about stuffing your mouth with french fries and cheese no I am talking about eating good fats like avocado, coconut oil, fish, and nuts. You have to eat fat (in moderation) to lose fat–weird concept right. According to U.S. Department of Agriculture’s 2005 Dietary Guidelines, adults should be getting 20-35% of their daily calories from fat (note: fat = 9kcal per gram). Eating the good fats (unsaturated fats) will not expand your waist line but will provide health benefits such as reduced risk of heart disease. The fats that you DO want to avoid are trans fat and saturated fats. These should be less than 7% of your caloric intake. Check nutrition labels on the back of foods to see what they contain. In similar fashion, carbohydrates do not necessarily mean bread as carbs are in almost everything (including fruit). Carbs should account for 45-60% of your daily calories while your protein intake should be .4 grams per kg of body weight if your activity level is sedentary, .6 for active, .8 for very active. Both carbs and protein are 4kcal per gram.

Its not REALLY about how much you eat rather than WHAT you eat. Those who are on strict low calorie diets often end up gaining the weight back plus some. This is because ones metabolism slows down to conserve energy if the person is not eating enough to fuel their body (calories are energy). As the metabolism slows down weight loss either becomes stagnant or the intended loss becomes a gain. Do not restrict yourself rather be mindful. Eat mostly whole foods, eat every 3-4 hours, try to avoid processed foods, eat lots of protein and veggies, and always remember: anything in excess can be harmful. To end this entry, please note that diet companies will try and lure you in with their so called “healthy foods” when in fact, 100 calorie packets and whole wheat bread are way overly processed. Again, make sure you are reading nutrition labels, the least amount of ingredients and ones that you can actually pronounce are good! FINALLY, THE BIGGEST WEIGHT LOSS TIP: Be sure to drink 8-10 glasses of water a day (64 -80 oz) . Water has be proven to aid in weight loss as fat escapes through your body through sweat and bathroom usage. The more you pee the more you lose, plus your skin will look fab to match your new found healthy you.

Leave a Reply

